About Us

The Alice M. Farr Library, located at 1603 L Street in Aurora, opened its doors in January 1990. Construction of the $1 million structure got underway in 1988 after several months of planning and fund raising activities. Most of the money to build the new library came from the Frank and Alice Farr Foundation. The rest came from Aurora and area individuals, organizations, and other foundations. With its 10,000 square feet of space, the Alice M. Farr Library more than doubled the size of the 1910 Carnegie Library.



Jan Thomsen – Director
Jackie Bowman – Assistant Director/Children’s Librarian
Emmy Fiala – Clerk
Leigha Spencer – Clerk
Ayden Brophy – High School Clerk
Abby Thomsen – High School Clerk


Ron Haden – Chairman
Jan Schanou – Vice Chairman
Joe Sandmeier – Secretary
Bonnie Kruse – Building & Grounds
Roger Holling – Member at Large


Monday: 10:00 – 8:00
Tuesday: 10:00 – 8:00
Wednesday: 10:00 – 8:00
Thursday: 10:00 – 8:00
Friday: 10:00 – 5:00
Saturday: 10:00 – 2:00
Sunday: Closed

Skip to content